Victoria educational organisation

EN
Victoria Kindergarten, Multilingual Kindergarten Teacher

Curriculum

Victoria is committed to combining leading education research, various teaching pedagogies, and drawing upon the experience of our expert multilingual teaching faculty in designing our curriculum. When deciding on the best way to educate our students, we asked ourselves, “How do young children learn effectively?” To this end all our kindergartens are authorised International Baccalaureate (IB) World Schools offering the Primary Years Programme (PYP), and our nursery campus prepares children to transfer happily to kindergarten with the necessary skills. The PYP inquiry based programme is supported by the Columbia University Teachers College Reading and Writing Project (TCRWP), a strong literacy programme that develops avid and skilled readers, writers and inquirers. Most importantly, our classes are led by qualified native speaking teachers (English, Cantonese and Putonghua) providing a bilingual / trilingual approach to learning.

International Baccalaureate (IB)
The IB Primary Years Program (PYP) model is student-led and inquiry based with teachers playing the role of facilitators helping the children to construct knowledge. Through this process, children continually ask questions, collect, analyse, organise, and report on the information they have found.

Teachers begin with finding out what the children know and what their experiences have been. They then design, plan and implement ‘Units of Study’, which they deliver through creating an engaging, ‘inquiry based’ learning environment. This allows children to be creative and imaginative in their exploration of their daily environment, Hong Kong, and the wider world.

Children actively participate in many and varied hands-on activities that cover all areas of the curriculum. Mathematics is taught by using concrete resources so that the children have a clear understanding of an abstract concept, e.g shape and space. In science, children will carry out many experiments, e.g growing plants in the dark, in the sunshine, with water and without water, in order to see what plants need to survive. These lessons all connect under the banner of a Unit of Inquiry, such as “Sharing the Planet”.

Art, music, and physical activity are scheduled activities and an important part of learning.

The PYP is a fun and engaging way to learn that ensures that knowledge and understanding stay with the child.

What is an inquiry based learning environment?
Inquiry is the learning style of the Primary Years Programme. It is a structured approach to learning that enables independence for children to participate and take ownership of their learning. Children show self-discipline by completing all tasks set by teachers, and going that step further, to explore centres that support, extend and consolidate their learning.

The students embark on the Inquiry Cycle by:
Tuning in – “What do I know about this topic?” Teachers foster young children’s curiosity in the topic by providing engaging and relevant provocation.
Finding out – “What do I want to know about this topic?” By experimenting, sharing, and discussing their ideas with others during personal and group inquiry activities, children gain a further understanding of the topic.
Sorting Out – “How does it relate to what I know?” Young children learn to collate and analyse the information collected during inquiry.
Going further – “How might I organise my information and ideas?” Children have a wider base of knowledge and they look to deepen what they are learning. They might organise their information and ideas in different ways.
Synthesising and Reflecting – Children process what they have learnt, then form their own opinions and understandings. “How does it connect with what we are learning?” Learning to use different objects is very important for young children to develop their inquiry techniques.
Acting and Applying – “What have I learned that I can use elsewhere?” “Taking action” allows children to act upon what they have learnt.

For more information, please visit http://www.ibo.org


TCRWP

Columbia University Teachers College Reading and Writing Project (TCRWP):
Teachers College Reading and Writing Project (TCRWP) is a research based, well established, dynamic reading and writing project out of Columbia University, USA. Its staff developers carry out constant research and travel worldwide delivering up to the minute training to teachers. Victoria’s kindergartens are proud to be in partnership with TCRWP receiving yearly onsite training from their staff developers for their English and Chinese teachers. Since the introduction of this project Victoria’s kindergarten students stamina for reading and writing within a meaningful context has prepared them to succeed as avid readers and writers as they progress into primary schools.

In the classroom, children participate in readers and writers workshops where they learn and are given a chance to apply the skills of what real readers and writers do. The workshop begins with a short mini lesson, the teacher models one strategy and the children are given opportunities for active engagement, where they also try the strategy independently or with a partners. After the mini lesson, the children are able given an extended period time to write and read independently where they build stamina and try the strategies that have been taught. During that time, the teacher acts as a facilitator monitoring how children can independently apply what has been taught, hold small group strategy group sessions or individual conferences with each child to help them progress in their skills as readers and writers. It is a great opportunity for the children to be creative and allows them to build on their communication skills by presenting and sharing their learning to their teachers and peers.

For more information, please visit http://readingandwritingproject.org


Project Zero

Agency by Design: Early Childhood in the Making, a research initiative of Project Zero, Harvard Graduate School of Education
Victoria Educational Organisation is honoured to work with researchers at Project Zero, a research centre at the Harvard Graduate School of Education, to explore and develop an Early Childhood specific framework that supports maker-centred learning. The maker-centred learning concepts the Project Zero research team is investigating along with the in-depth thinking routines focused on maker-centred learning goals nicely complement several of the concepts currently built into the IB PYP curriculum. Maker-centred learning ideas support enabling young children to begin to deconstruct and analyse the made dimensions of their world and encourage them to think more deeply about the objects and systems that they engage with in their everyday lives.


Why is Victoria so Special? In a word, “Family”. There is a wonderful and palpable family warmth and care we feel at Victoria Kindergarten. Ms Queenie Wong, Parent of Jasmine Tsui and Quentin Tsui
IB Learner Profile All Victoria schools are committed to the development of our students according to the IB learner profile, and strive to develop the 10 attributes in their students through the academic programme, enrichment activities, excursions and school wide events offered throughout the year.
Inquirers Inquirers We nurture our curiosity, developing skills for inquiry and research. We know how to learn independently and with others. We learn with enthusiasm and sustain our love of learning throughout life. Knowledgeable Knowledgeable We develop an use conceptual understanding, exploring knowledge across a range of disciplines. We engage with issues and ideas that have local and global significance. Thinkers Thinkers We use critical and creative thinking skills to analyse and take responsible action on complex problems. We exercise initiative in making reasoned, ethical decisions. Communicators Communicators We express ourselves confidently and creatively in more than one language and in many ways. We collaborate effectively, listening carefully to the perspectives of other individuals and groups. Principled Principled We act with integrity and honesty, with a strong sense of fairness and justice, and with respect for the dignity and rights of people everywhere. We take responsibility for our actions and their consequences. Open-minded Open-minded We critically appreciate our own cultures and personal histories, as well as the values and traditions of others. We seek and evaluate a range of points of view, and we are willing to grow from the experience. Caring Caring We show empathy, compassion and respect. We have a commitment to service, and we act to make a positive difference in the lives of others and in the world around us. Risk-takers Risk-takers We approach uncertainty with forethought and determination; we work independtly and cooperatively to explore new ideas and innovative strategies. We are resourceful and resilient in the face of challenges and change. Balanced Balanced We understand the importance of balancing different aspects of our lives - intellectual, physical, and emotional - to achieve well-being for ourselves and others. We recognize our interdependence with other people and with the world in which we live. Reflective Reflective We thoughtfully consider the world and our own ideas and experience. We work to understand our strengths and weakness in order to support our learning and personal development.

維多利亞教育機構

幼兒園及幼稚園的課程

幼兒園及幼稚園的課程

本機構綜合了領導性的教育硏究、各種教學法及多種語言教學模式的經驗設計課程。當決定我們的最佳教學方法時,我們先問自己:「兒童如何能夠有效地學習?」為了這個目標,我們所有的幼稚園都是認可的國際文憑組織(IB)世界學校,提供小學項目(PYP)課程。而我們亦協助年幼的幼兒學習必須的技能,讓他們更愉快、順利地到幼稚園學習。國際文憑組織小學項目(IB PYP)課程以探究為基礎,它與美國哥倫比亞大學閱讀及書寫計劃(TCRWP)互相支持,這強大的語文計劃能培養學生成為一位熱愛且富技巧的小讀者、小作家和探索者。最重要的是我們的老師都是合資格的母語教師(英語,廣東話和普通話),提供雙語或三語教學。

國際文憑組織小學項目(IB PYP)
國際文憑組織小學項目(IB PYP)是一個由學生主導和探索性的教學模式,其中老師只擔當一個輔助者的角色,幫助兒童建構知識。在過程中,兒童不斷發問問題、搜集、分析、組織和報告他們所獲得的資訊。

老師在探究學習之始,先找出學生已有知識和經驗,然後設計、計劃和推行單元計劃(Units of Inquiry) ,然後按計劃佈置一個具探索的學習環境引導他們自主學習,這樣令學生有創意地和有想像力地去探索他們日常的環境、香港以及更廣闊的世界。

在整個課程中,學生會主動地參與很多不同的親身操作的活動。 我們採用實質的材料教導學生數學,讓學生對於一些抽象的概念有清晰的了解,例如形狀和空間。科學方面,學生會進行很多實驗,例如種植植物,比較在不同的環境、情況下會有甚麼變化,使他們知道植物需要什麼才能生存。

藝術、音樂和體能活動是恆常的活動,亦是學習的重要一部份。

小學項目(PYP)是一個富有趣味和自主參與的學習模式,確保學生能夠理解及獲得相關的知識。
 
什麼是一個探索性的學習環境?
探索是小學項目(PYP)的學習模式,能夠有系統地讓學生獨立地參與和自主學習。學生能夠獨立地完成老師委派的工作,顯示出他們的自律性,並且再進一步,透過探索不同的學習角落以支持、擴展和鞏固他們所學的。 學生開展他們探索周期(Inquiry Cycle)的程序:
導入 - "對於這個課題,我知道甚麼東西?"老師激發學生的好奇心,引導學生發問問題, 
發現與探尋 - "在這個課題中,我想知道甚麼?" 從個人和小組探索活動中,學生和別人分享和討論他們的意見,從而對有關課題有進一步的理解。
整理 - "新的資訊與我已知的知識有甚麼關聯?"學生學習整理和分析他們收集到的資料。 進一步延伸 - "如何組織我已有的知識和新的意見?" 當孩子對課題已有一個廣闊的知識基礎,然後他們會對某方面尋求更深入的學習。同時他們可以將資料和意見利用不同的方式整理。
整合及反思 – 孩子將他們所學到的轉化成他們自己的意見和理解。"怎樣將資料聯繫到我們所學的?" 幼兒學習運用不同物件進行比較、分析,這樣對發展他們的探索技能是十分重要的。
行動及應用 - "我學到的可以在甚麼地方運用出來?" "付諸行動" 可以讓小孩子運用他們所學到的。 

如欲暸解更多有關國際文憑課程組織的資料,請瀏覽網址:www.ibo.org

哥倫比亞大學閱讀及書寫計劃(TCRWP)
閱讀及書寫計劃(TCRWP)是美國哥倫比亞大學一個以硏究為基礎,廣受接納和鼓動性的閲讀和書寫計劃。大學的教授經常作出硏究和到世界各地提供最新的培訓給老師。本機構的幼稚園好榮幸成為該計劃的學校,接受閱讀及書寫計劃(TCRWP)培訓。我們的中英文老師都跟隨閱讀及書寫計劃(TCRWP)的架構運作,而從學生的學習成果中可以看到該計劃的效能。 老師在小型課堂裹教導學生學習不同的閲讀和寫作策略及方法。在課堂中,老師示範有關策略,而學生亦有機會參與和夥拍其他同伴使用同一策略。課堂之後,學生亦可以在他們獨立閲讀和寫作的時候嘗試使用相關的策略。老師只擔當輔導者的角色,並且與學生個別討論他們如何可以在讀寫能力上更進一步。這是一個很好的機會讓學生發揮創意,更可透過向老師和同伴匯報及分享他們的學習,從而提昇他們的溝通技巧。
 
如欲暸解更多資料,請瀏覽網址:http://readingandwritingproject.org
 

維多利亞為甚麼那麼特別?一個字「家」﹗維多利亞就像一個溫暖的家,洋溢著關懷與喜悅。 Ms Queenie Wong, Parent of Jasmine Tsui and Quentin Tsui
國際文憑學習者培養目標
(IB LEARNER PROFILE)
本機構都致力根據國際文憑學習者培養目標培育學生, 致力透過學術課程, 、興趣活動、社區參觀活動和年中的學校活動發展學生的10個培養目標
積極探究 積極探究 我們培養自己的好奇心,逐步掌握開展探究和研究的技能,我們知道如何獨自或與人一起開展學習。我們對學習充滿熱情,並終身保持對學習的熱愛。 知識淵博 知識淵博 我們發展並利用對概念的理解,跨越一系列學科探索知識。我們對各種具有當地和全球重要性的問題和思想觀點進行探討。 勤於思考 勤於思考 我們運用批判怛和創造性思考技能,對複雜的問題進行分析並採取負責任的行動。我們積極主動地做出理由充分、合乎倫理的決定。 善於交流 善於交流 我們使用一種以上的語言,以多種方式充滿信心和富有創意地進行自我表達。我們有效地開展協作,注意傾聽他人以及其他群體的觀點。 堅持原則 堅持原則 我們處事正直、誠實,有強烈的公平和正義感,尊重世界各地人民的尊嚴和權力。我們對自己的行動及其後果承擔責任。 胸 胸襟開闊 胸襟開闊 我們有批判性地欣賞我們的文化和個人歷史, 以及其他人的價值觀和傳統。 我們尋求和評估不同的見解, 而從經驗中繼續成長。 懂得關愛 懂得關愛 我們有同理心, 同情心和尊重。 我們致力服務人羣。 我們為改善別人的生活和整個世界而努力。 勇於嘗試 勇於嘗試 我們深謀遠慮和堅決果斷地應對變化不定的事物;我們獨立地或通過合作探索新的思想觀點和新穎的策略。面對挑戰和變化,我們表現得足智多謀和靈活機敏。 全面發展 全面發展 我們理解在生活中做得智力、身體和情感均衡發展的重要性,這樣才能使我們自己和他們幸福康樂。我們認識到自己與他人以及我們所處世界的相互依存關係。 及時反思 及時反思 我們對世界和自己的思想觀點和經驗做出深刻縝密的思考。為了支持我們的學習和個人發展,我們努力瞭解自己的長處和弱點。